Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

India

Hi everyone,

I'd like to take this opportunity to introduce myself. I'm Fluffychuffnuts, I've been teaching in Reception for two years (this probably isn't the right place to introduce myself but I've never posted anything before so sorry about that!) I've been a member for a few months now and I'm always amazed at the dedication and creativity of the members but have never been brave enough to join in. So here goes ...

Next week the whole school are doing a multicultural celebration and I've been given India as my country to do a mini topic on. I'm up to my eyeballs in profiles at the moment as I know many of you are and wondered if any of you clever people had any activity ideas up your sleeves? I have only taught celebrations in the past like Divali and Holi and not a lot about India itself.

Anyway, I've done it, my first post, look forward to your replies

Fluffychuffnuts :o

Hi

Just wanted to say hello and welcome to the forum, when we have done a topic on india in the past we have been very lucky to get a indian parent in who spent time showing the children how to put on and wear a sari we then made some traditional indian snacks and had a food tasting session, and traditional indian music.

Hello and welcome to the forum!

When we did India we read the book 'My Daddy is a Pretzel' which is a great story which talks about different children's parents' jobs and then relates them to a yoga position. We all practised the different yoga positions and the book made it very child-friendly - we had a great time - some of the children were really good at it. I had some year 1 children and they drew pictures of one another in the different positions and they talked about what their favourite positions were and why they liked them.