Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Snack Time

I supervise a charity run pre school and provide snack for the morning session, this includes breadsticks or crackers, toast etc. and also some fruit, I visited a friends pre-school recently (attached to a school) and they are given free fruit for all of their children each session, can anyone tell me if this is just for pre- schools or nurseries attached to schools or can anyone claim for free fruit ??

even though I have replied to things on the site this is my first time of doing this bit so i hope i've done it right!! :o

Only schools,

voluntary or private settings not eligible.

We ask parents to supply fruit for the snack by putting out a list when we need some, we supply toast etc. we always have a good supply.

Inge

Edited by Inge

Hi - we did provide bread sticks, crackers etc - now we only have fresh fruit and vegetables each day which are donated by parents. We encourage them to bring in one piece each day and reassure them if they have run out of apples, why not a carrot. This has been so very successful - children are tasting fruits & veg they may not have at home, and as we run a snack bar which is open for 2 hours each child can take the time to try new things.

:o Dot

Hi there

We chose not to have the free fruit as we could see that it would present problems as only one type of fruit is delivered per day. We want the children to be able to have some fruit which they know they will enjoy. All staff bring in a piece of fruit too as we all sit down to eat together.

All parents provide a piece of fruit, we get all sorts and we also sometimes have toast or biscuits, as well as eating our own cooking. We encourage children to try healthy things they are not used to.