Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Continuous Provision For Small Numbers

Hi all,

Another daft question from a complete novice in early years below Y1.

Reastically, how much continuous provision would you plan for 10 children on a daily basis? There might be 12 at a time if the 2 younger Y1 children join them, (the rest of the class are Y1/2, so will access CP sometimes, but probably not on the same scale as YR).

Would you still treat the room as if you had a full class of YR, and plan for that, or would you rotate the available activities (which surely is then adult led rather than child initiated) over the course of a week?

It seems a bit of a waste of time to set up lots of activities to find that whole areas could well go unused, or is this something I'll just have to get used to?

Maybe I'd be better grouping YR and Y1 together, rather than Y1 and Y2, or at least the younger Y1s who still need access to play.

Someone please tell me that I'll get my head round this by September! I'm fast becoming a forum addict.

Edited by Guest

My continuous provision is just that continuous, I display what resources are available and possible learning opportunities and this is permanent and resources available for CIL so I don't plan for it. In my daily planning I would write down any enhancements to the areas but wouldn't write anything unless additional resources were being used. Hope that makes sense.

Gosh that was quick! Thanks Marion.

Yes, that makes sense, I think. So there might well be a construction area, or a role play area for example, with nobody in it, and everybody playing in the outdoor area? It's going to take some getting used to this.