Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Transition To Year 1

Elfy

Hi I'm a teacher in a new foundation unit ( opened in september). We have been asked to write a transition policy primarily concerned with transition from reception to year 1. does anyone have any examples or ideas about what should be included?

Thanks

Elfy

x

I have provided a link to the continuing the learning journey stuff on the dcsf website. Perhaps you could use some of this to inform your policy. Other than that I can't really help - writing a transition policy and an early phonics/reading policy are just two of the things on my never ending to do list :o

Thanks for the replies so far I have followed the links and they seem helpful.

At the moment our reception children only go onto the 'Big Playground' at lunchtime and they only go to the celebration assembly on a wednesday. This hasn't exactly been well received by other members of staff and I feel that the transition policy may be used by some as a way of making the reception class return to doing all playtimes and assemblies in the second half of the summer term in preparation for year 1.

What are peoples thoughts about assemblies and playtimes for reception children in foundation stage units?

Have you looked at the Featherstone book "Smooth Transitions"?

Your Reception children in your unit should stay just that until they are year 1. Plenty of time for them to cope with those other things and something for them to look forward to when they are thta little bit older and more able to cope anyway!

Thanks for the replies so far I have followed the links and they seem helpful.