Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How Many Observations In Reception?

I'm fairly new to Reception, at the minute we are doing one observation per half term for each child. Is this enough? What is the statutory requirement? Thanks

I'm fairly new to Reception, at the minute we are doing one observation per half term for each child. Is this enough? What is the statutory requirement? Thanks

Firstly, I'm in pre-school so I can't really answer your question. That said, my glib answer would be "enough in number and quality to provide sufficient information to plan for the child's next steps in their learning journey".

I'm not sure there's a statutory requirement: rather the guidance/advice has always been a bit vague on the subject of observations....

Someone who understands the constraints of carrying out observations in Reception will be along shortly to give you some good advice, I'm sure!

Maz

I don't tend to schedule observations, but keep an eye on how children do with focus activities (for next steps in learning rather than profile assessments) and note down incidental observations of CI play/comments children make that will provide evidence for certain profile points or next steps in learning.

Having said that, I should probably have some kind of system to track which children I have fewer observations of.

purplemagic x