Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Letters And Sounds Of Jolly Phonics?

Hello - Im a Nursery teacher and I'm confused! This year we have been planning for phase one of the letters and sounds document. I really love the activities and feel that the children respond really well. This time last year I started Jolly Phonics with the children but now feel confused as to whether to do the same? I suppose I'm wondering what other Nursery teachers do? Our recpetion use Jolly Phonics but I'm not sure whether I need to? Do you think it's beneficial for the children going into reception toprevious experience of JP?

Hi

Our reception teach Jolly phonics and after moving to the nursery I hace continued to use them, not in such a formal way. During snack time our children sit at tables, as many have never sat at a table, and we always talk about the snack and what phonemes they begin with. the children love the actions, the head likes it and even the early years advisor has sat at snack and joined in!

Iam Deputy manager of a day nursery and have been looking at ways in which we can introduce

more phonics to the children.

I would be interested in what Jolly phonics are? and how i can use them with our children ?

Can anyone help??x

Bubbles, look at this.

Littlemisssunshine, you need to decide in school what they want you to do but there is no reason why you cant start jolly phonics, it works well alongside letters and sounds and phase 1 activities can and should run concurrently.

Catma has some good advice here

Thanks Susan!

I think there is some confusion over the sematics when we say "I do" jolly phonics - be clear whether you are just using the JP mnemonics as a teaching strategy to introduce phonemes whilst the scheme you are using is L+S, OR are you actually following the JP programme from start to finish as laid down by the JP people. I think we create confusion otherwise.

Cx