Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Final Year Student! We're Going On A Bear Hunt.

I'm a fourth year student doing BA (hons) Art and Education.

I always panic! I'm doing a week on bears and using the text 'We're going on a bear hunt.' I need to plan a fantastic C.L.L lesson to be observed, so could really use some ideas for my shared and focused activities that can easily be differentiated.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, please thankyou! :o

p.s. I've found a fair amount but any other ideas for other areas of learning will be gratefully accepted- my imagination needs work!

I'm ok with CD/KUW/PD/PSED because the theme and text provide so much scope. I mainly need help with Literacy and Numeracy. I find it hard to plan effective/fun shared and focused activities that reception can cope with at this stage.

Something to do with positional language springs to mind for the maths - to do with "under" and "over", etc. - maybe acting out the story and stressing the language as you go along? Or maybe something to do with the sequence and order of the children's journey - using the language of "first", "next", etc. That seems to be quite a good aspect of maths that comes out in the story?

I'm sure some other people will be along with other ideas soon if that doesn't appeal.....?! :o

I've just realised that you said Numeracy, not Mathematical Development - so maybe my idea isn't suitable?

Edited by Wolfie

maybe you could have some sorting bears of different colours and sizes to do some comparing.

Communicating skills of terminology with posiiton and direction. what about acting out story of going on a bear hunt using props... in a story sack?

Hope this is an idea