Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eprofile - Confused!

Hi everyone, apologies if this has already been discussed and also probably a basic question...

I'm an NQT in a mixed FS and Year 1 class. I've just put my entry assessments onto the EProfile and am confused on two things...

1) Do the children have to complete the stepping stones in order (surely not??) For example I have a child who can't dress and undress independently DA 4 but can select activities and resources independently DA5, this confuses me.

2) Also I have been working on the basis that we need to observe the child display the objective 3 times before i can say they are at that level, what if i've observed the child 3 times but i don't have actual observation evidence? I know they can do it but just haven't had the pportunity to write out detailed observation?

I hope this makes sense and someone can help me as it's giving me a headache! Sorry if it sounds basic but as an NQT i have no experience of filling in the profile.

Thanks Jackie xx :o

First of all, welcome! I don't think I've said hello before xD

Now, I'm not even a teacher, but from what I've gathered (and there has been LOTS of discussion of this here- try a forum search) professional judgment is acceptable as well as obs - am I right, you teachers??

And, in my understanding of the FS, it's perfectly normal/acceptable for children to achieve stepping stones as and when it's appropriate for them!! So, no, they aren't necessarily hierarchical. (well, in my world - :o )

And I'm sure a real teacher will be along soon!

Sue

First of all, welcome! I don't think I've said hello before xD

Now, I'm not even a teacher, but from what I've gathered (and there has been LOTS of discussion of this here- try a forum search) professional judgment is acceptable as well as obs - am I right, you teachers??