Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Converting Fsp To Nc Levels

I hope this works, it's my first message. I'm in my first year of teaching and I'm starting to stress about the FSP. I am filling them in (but not by e-profile) and gathering evidence as required. However at my school these are not sent home therfore I write reports as well - not sure if every does anyway. How do I then use the information from the profiles to help the transition up to class one? IS there a spreadsheet or excel package to use to enter the statistical information to help with leveling?

Not sure if any of this makes any sense. If anyone can interpret this message please reply.

Thanks

hi lynsey & welcome.

the only requirement is that you provide the statistics from the profile ie how many scored on each scale.

the booklets are optional so unless your school requires these as part of the childs individual records stop!

Your profiles will be moderated, or may have been already. You need to show what you have scored and produce a range of evidence to justify your decisions. you do not need evidence for every point for every child. Your profiles should be sampled and inmy LEA those children will be observed to verify decisions.

we made ourselves a spreadsheet to send to yr1 for an at glance picture of attainment. I have used it to track progress as well this year, although it has been difficult working out where/how to store evidence and we have used individual booklets based on the profile document rather than special books.

Hope that helps.

Report time always has been quite stressful and the FSP doesn't make it any better.

Could you talk to your mentor or someone in school about this workload?

Are you the only reception teacher, if so its really important to let someone know how you feel.

I sent the booklets home last year as that was the only way we could justify the time.