Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Dilema With Work, Not Sure What To Do

Hi all,

Okay this situation in a nutshell is as follows:

: Our nursery changed ownership in July this year, new owners, but i am still a manager there. we have had a few teething problems, namely myself having to ajust to one of the owners being in work daily, but she is lovely and things have gone okay.

However, as many of you probably know in childcare money is always an issue. I have recently seen several nursery manager jobs advertised not a million miles away from where i live for a salary of anything betwwen £5,000 and £9,000 more than im on at present.

I have been totally honest with the owner and have told her that i have seen jobs for more money. she has responded by saying that if they could afford to pay me more they would... i guess that is fair enough.

Today i found out that fees have gone up by 6%, staff wages have gone up by 4%.

what is bugging myself and other staff is the fact that the pay increase (and pay in general) does not take into acocunt factors such as how long we have worked within the company (even though it is a new company, our terms of contract i.e our length of service from old complany carries over) so some people have been there years but are on the same pay as someone that has been there two months.

there is also no difference between qualifications or how long they have been held... so someone who has been qualified three years and worked there three years is on the same salary as someone who has just qualified.

i have a degree and NNEB and my qualifications are not refelcted in my salary, i am on less salary than the average level three manager in our area.