Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

References

Hi

I have been asked to write a reference for someone I work with to support her applictaion for a course. Please could you advise me on what sort of things you include in your references? Do you wirte under certain headings? How much do you normally write?

I have never written one before and don't want to let her down!!

Elfy

x

I think it is really difficult to do a reference without having the criteria you need to consider. I'm sure there's a post on here somewhere about references - someone with technical expertise will come along and point you in the right direction!

I have just been asked to provide a 'blanket' reference for a member of staff who left at the end of last term, but I've written back and asked for performance critiera - unless you know what issues are important to the new employer, how can you provide a useful reference?

So my advice would be to find out more about the kind of information they require about the candidate....

Maz

I would write something like

'x has worked with me in my classroom for y years. She has been supportive and interested, responding well to the children and they to her. She has always been interested in a and would be a good student.'

I would say everything I knew about this person and her interest in the course.

Good luck.

I would mention their rapport with children and adults. Professionalism. Willingness to learn and be involved in professional development. Past performance and how you would judge their performance as a practitioner. promptness, appearance, reliability. OOh I don't know, the head normally does the references but I have done lots for NQT's and students I have mentored but I agree it is easier if you have some idea of what the reference is for and what they are looking for specifically.

Guest Wolfie