Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Management Qualification?

:o Hi everyone

I manage a 96 place day nursery and am looking for a distance learning childcare management qualification level 4 or 5. At the moment I hold a level 3 Diploma. With 22 years experience not counting for much anymore and the dreaded looming of the 'only a degree will do' ethos, I need to find a way to start towards a higher qualification level or find another profession. The Foundation degree and alike are no good for me at the present time as I now manage full-time, am no longer working hands on in the rooms, family commitments that don't allow for it, working 47 hours a week and the fact that I cannot afford to take time off or go part-time and pay my mortgage.

My senior nursery nurse will probably do the Foundation degree in the next few years when all is settled down, and hopefully a quicker way to qualify will be announced that suit more of us, so that we can succeed to reach level 5/6 without the need for us to have a degree in something!! :( Not disputing that higher qualification isn't a good thing, because it, but alot of us who have been in the proffession one way or another for many years, are all leaving for jobs that don't require constant pushing to take course after course. (Sorry if I've run on, but letting off steam slightly, could go on for ages on this subject, but won't right now xD ).

Anyone got the answer?

I would love to hear from anyone who is doing or has complete such a course, or indeed if there is such a thing, as I'm finding it difficult to find anything suitable and feeling very disheartened.

Hi there

Im doing a manging care course with the open university K303 it is VERY good. Its a level 3 which is like last year of a degree so not sure how you would get on without working your way up. Even I found it a big jump for year 2. However it will arm you with skills needed, maybe worth a look to see?

www.open.ac.uk