Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Top Tips.

Guest Reb3

Hope your final days with your classes are going well (Mine are off the wall!!) & you're looking forward to a well earned break.

I've been a Year Two teacher for 7 years and in September will be moving to Reception.

I'm really excited by the move and loved my 2 induction days with my new class but as the Summer holidays approach a dgree of fear is starting to set in as I think about getting me head around a new way of teaching, planning & just what to do with my class to help them settle and give them the best.

Any top tips would be greatly appreciated, things you wish you'd known when you started out, good places to look on this site, handy activities etc.

Thanks for looking at this and enjoy your Summer,

Rebecca xx

Hi Rebecca and welcome.

I am sure you will love reception although it may be a bit of a culture shock!

As a successful year 2 teacher you will already be aware of many of the tricks of settling children into your class which are easily transferable to new entrants to school. Be prepared to show them and tell them how you wish them to behave several times a day and establish your rules and routines quickly and consistently and spend time getting these in place to enable other learning to take place!

Be as prepared as you can be but also make sure you get plenty of rest, you will be very tired in the first few weeks in particular.

Hello Rebecca, welcome from me too. Sound advice already from Susan. I am in preschool so don't know much about year 2 experiences.

Last September we had some successfull getting to know you activities; Each child made a life size picture of themselves which we hung from the ceiling for a whole term. They loved to talk about who they were 'hanging out' with. They drew around each other, I added a photo of their face, then they decided which materials to use for their clothes.