Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

The Reception Day. Fao Mookie

Thanks for your reply Mookie, and the plans. By formal, do you mean that I have everyone working on group work at the same time? It's funny, every reception class I hear of is so different and its also funny that I have never looked at my system as formal before. Don't get me wrong, I'm not being bitchy and I don't mind it being pointed out but I suppose I've never really thought of it like that before. The nursery do their small group activities at the same time and I was just following suit really. In the afternoons, I have some children doing an activity related to my topic and other children involved in child initiated play, is this what you mean?

What does your day look like? Was just interested in what other people do, as I'm new to reception. I will probably start to link the group activities to the whole class sessions more now.

Thanks again for your help, much appreciated.

Jen xx

We have all chn. working in groups at the same time too. I used to use this in Nursery too, this was from the Highscope daily routines - Small Group Time, it certainly seems to work for us and I wouldn't like to go back to withdrawing groups during CI Play. This way gives us more time to work with the children on their plans and its quieter for Small Group Time too.

We have all chn. working in groups at the same time too. I used to use this in Nursery too, this was from the Highscope daily routines - Small Group Time, it certainly seems to work for us and I wouldn't like to go back to withdrawing groups during CI Play. This way gives us more time to work with the children on their plans and its quieter for Small Group Time too.