Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Urgent Advice Needed Please!

I am currently in my second year of teaching at a school which I really love however this school is around 45 mins away from my house. I am KS1/KS2 trained however I have been teaching in the Reception class of my school for the last 5 terms. My post is permanent and after 2 terms I was promoted (although no extra money involved) to FS coord. I have just seen 2 jobs advertised at the school which I went to as a child which is approx 1 min walk from my house however these jobs are both in Year 5. I have really enjoyed FS and am not sure I would enjoy year 5 as much however I can't help but feel that the FS teacher's job is all going to chage in a few years time (what with the into of EYPs etc) and therefore feel I should maybe go for this job as I might get phased out of FS eventually. I am very career orientated and was thinking of looking for a new job after Xmas anyway in order to further develop myself. I feel that I do have to seriously consider these jobs as I do have a young child and that extra time in the morn and at night would really make a massive difference.

Can I really know that FS is for me if I haven't done any other year groups? Also, if I stay in FS for say 5 years do you think it would be harder then to get a job in KS2 as opposed to now where I 've been in FS for less than 2 yrs? On the other hand although there is no extra pay do you think it is a good position to be in being FS coor at such an early point in my career and would I be silly for giving it up to become a class teacher with no additional responsibilities?

Sorry for all the questions but am so confused - any opinions welcome - I have to look round and apply by Friday if I am going to go for it!

Hi Mookie

Why don't you go and have a look and see how the school feels. I'm not in a school but i do live a few minutes from my setting so know how you feel about the time issue.

Good luck in what ever you decide.