Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Do You Get Direction From Management?

:o

Hello all,

Just wondered how much direction you get from your managers? I seem to be left to my own devises and am struggling a bit without any help. My FS Co-ord is also the Deputy Head and has no time to give me. I am on my own in the FS so no other teacher to discuss planning, timetabling or assessment with and am getting a bit fed up. I am also fairly new to teaching and so have only a limited amount of experience to draw on. I would like to have regularly meetings with the FS Co-ord to go over progression, any areas for improvement and at least get some feedback from time to time but this never happens despite many requests. Any discussions are quick chats before/after school which are always rushed.

Am I being unreasonable? How am I suppose to develop as a teacher and improve if I never get any direction?

Claire

Do you have any cluster meetings with other FS teachers in your area? A couple of times each term, the pre-school practitioenrs and reception teachers get together for a couple of hours to share practice and ideas, moderate, and catch up with local/national FS news. If there is no such thing, why not ask your local authority advisory team to set it up?

Guest Wolfie

I don't think you're being unreasonable to expect some kind of regular meeting, feedback and exchange of ideas/developments/ practice from your FS co-ordinator. The title implies that she/he has some kind of management responsibility so he/she needs to be communicating on a regular planned basis in order to manage effectively.

Hi Claire

I know what you mean about planning by yourself, it is really hard.

I am FU co-ordinator and Deputy head but still like to get feedback

Trying the LA for a network is a good idea or approach nearby schools?

Try the DHT and ask them for a school to approach - might give them a nudge

good luck

Jo

:)