Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Pilates

Does anyone do pilates? I have never done it before but it has been recommended to me. I have suffered constant back pain for 2 years now (no idea why), and have been tested for many things, as well as trying various treatments. No-one is able to tell me what is wrong.

I am now willing to try anything and wondered if pilates may help?

Know how you feel, and I have only been really bad for a month now, still off work but having seen a chiropractor and treatment 3 times a week for 2 weeks , at least I can move now! Another 2 weeks of treatment to assess and see if it is working adequately before deciding where we go next. He has said he will give me correct exercises and advice to help at end of course of treatment, and then it is up to me as to whether I continue or just follow his advice.

i would-be very wary of any exercise not approved by whoever is trying to sort your problem out, O was advised that it can aggravate the situation and make it worse rather than better.

Inge

Sorry to hear that, worth another go perhaps? even if to find out about any exercise they feel may benefit.

But I'm just one to keep on until someone listens!

As said, just be aware you could make it worse with the wrong exercises

Inge

My partner has had exactly the same problem, he sees a physio for his back and she has advised him to start doing Pilates and has given him a few exercises to do to start him off. Maybe it would be worth giving it ago or at least speaking to a physio or a doctor to get some exercises of them.

Good luck :)

I was recommended Pilates rather than yoga for core stability by a physiotherapist. I had previously spent a considerable amount of money with a Chiropractor but relief was very transient. Unfortunately, I have not found a Pilates class yet.