Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Issues Arising From The Introduction Of Fs

Can anybody help with some advice on writing an assignment dealing with issues arising from the intro of the FS.

I have research from SPEEL etc, but I would welcome some personal experiences from those who were teaching in teaching this age group before the intro of FS and what diffs the Guidance has made.

Hi Hotlips, and welcome to the site :)

That's an interesting question, and one which I'm sure many practitioners who were teaching before the onset of the FS would be more than happy to voice an opinion on! I was a primary teacher, teaching year 4 and year 2 before I started up the nursery in 1999. By the time I'd written the policies, employed the staff, done all the advertising, and used the PLA literature to plan an early years curriculum, the FS had come out and I was following that! I don't therefore have anything with which to compare the FS guidance, but I'm sure there are others out there............. :o

• 4 months later...

Hi Hotlips,

I'm sure you will get loads of information about national issues arising with the onset of the FS, but for me personally it was like a godsend! At the time I ws the EY co-ordinator in a fairly large Infant school. We were located in a "nice area" so there was a lot of pressure to get good results. With the Literacy Strategy already up and running and the Numeracy Strategy hot on it's tail I was being asked to teach in a way that I knew was wrong. I know that the Literacy and Numeracy Hour have never been statutory in Reception but I'm sure I am not the only practitioner that was asked to do it.