Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reading

hi

i thought i would copy Susans topic intro!

how do other people organise their reading? I'm a Reception teacher and think my school places a great emphasis on 1-1 reading! Just wondered how other schools compare.

all my children need to have their reading book changed twice and week and be heard by an adult twice a week, until recently i was expected to hear them all read in a week. this was taking 2 afternoons a week and resembled a conveyor belt system! In addition to this I spend a morning doing group reading! I have now eased the situation by negotiating with the Head and hearing half of the class one week and half the next ( my TA and parent helpers hear the rest)

I just wondered if this much reading was the norm as I find that I have little time for other activities, and often feel that 1-1 reading sessions are usually so rushed that they are of little value!

Lizz xxxx

Hi, I'm inclined to agree with you lizz.

Like the writing it is something I am re-evaluating at the moment because I actually feel I do not do enough individual reading.

We have been learning reading skills in shared reading and in Guided reading. We have used Jolly Phonics extensive and I'm working on getting children to hear the word generated by the sounds they have identified. But I have not been hearing them read on their own until this week. I am just beginning to introduce this and will also have it as an activity for Guided reading time with my NN, as I have the group and she works with everyone else.

I try to have a guided reading/ book skills session every day but am very conscious that the input I give can vary greatly from beginning to end of week. Children sometimes don't want to wait for a turn either, so a morning as a reading focus could work well. I'll ponder on that one!