Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Handwriting

I would really value your experiences/opinions/knowledge!

I have been teaching Reception for many years now! but I am still questioning myself, trying to find the best way etc etc for the children.

I have been in my present school for nearly 3 years and do love it. We have a very passionate Literacy Manager who is also a Year 6 teacher and she feels very VERY strongly about joined handwriting from Reception. I have only been too happy to go along with this because I feel strongly about supporting whole school initiatives and trust the research that says it is for the best...

BUT it has kind of hit me like a bolt out of the blue that actually my children find joined handwriting really, really, really difficult - to the point where, I believe, they are put off writing altogether. I have also come to dread teaching letter formation because it just feels like such an impossible task. Years ago, we introduced joined up writing in the nursery and Reception class where I was working but stopped after a year.

Writing is a real issue for our school, with poor Key Stage 1 results - they do seem to make up the ground in Key Stage 2. I am now thinking the reason is obvious - joined hand writing but before I voice my concerns I just want to know what you lot think. I want to do the right thing.

Hope you can help.

PS we do Write Dance in the Nursery and would describe our classes as quite laid back with lots of play all the time!

I teach the children to write in a cursive script and this is done through a set of jingles. The jingles enable the children to follow a letter route and this seems to stick in their memory. Some children manage this through repitition and for others its a hard slog. I do question the theory sometimes because for the boys this seems a more difficult task.

Good Luck.