Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Career Progression

Hi everyone,

I am finding it really difficult to progress within my nursery setting. At present I am a keyworker for 9 pre school children and have been for the last three years. I thoroughly enjoy my role but am becoming frustrated at my lack of progression. I am now at the end of my first year of the FD which I am studying through the Open University. I would like to move into a supervisory position but they dont come up in my setting very often. All the vacancies i have seen for supervisors ask's that you have 1 years post qualification supervisory experience, so this puts me off even applying, although I know I am more than able to carry out the duties that being a supervisor entails.

Would you still apply for vacancies any way?

Your advice is much appreciated

Claire x

Hi Claire.

I would definately, without hesitation. Sometimes, it's the only way to ensure you move up the ladder!

I applied earlier this year for a manager's job of a morning only pre-school. The job specification was 3 years post qualifying experience, experience with Ofsted inspections and all the associated paperwork.

I had been qualified only a few months at the time I applied, but I like you, knew that I would be able to handle most of the day to day stuff, just the paperwork would let me down. I told my interviewer my strengths and weaknesses and was given the job. I think its all about selling yourself and turning negatives into positives. The fact that you are technically level 4 qualified will also stand you in good stead.

I don't know what others think, but I personally would say go for it! If you don't ask, you don't get, that kind of thing!

Good luck and fingers crossed that supervisory job comes to you soon! :)