Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Timetable Advice Needed

I'm in the process of reviewing and changing our Reception planning and although I'm not happy as yet with our timetable -don't feel i can make too many changes for the sake of upsetting everyone ( I'm new to the school) - so i just need some advice on this - currently we have a session that runs from 9.30( after we've escaped from assembly xD ) - 10.10. The main focus of this is MD- with about 15 minutes of some whole class number rhymes and teaching - then it's planned that a group does a focussed activity with either the TA or CT or both. Previously all the independent activities were then focussed round the MD learning objective :o (this felt that there were some very tenuous links!!!)however we're moving away from this to where the independent activities are more open to other themes and covering other areas of the curriculum - are we are we heading the right way? This MD session however feels rushed as then after snack and play we have to move on to the CLL learning objectives which takes us up to lunch! Any advice gratefully recieved - thanks

I have short text level, phonics and numeracy inputs throughout the morning - about 10 minutes for each. We do text level first thing in the morning, numeracy after break and phonics before lunch. I have an integrated morning with most of the independent activities being drawn from our book for that week. If I can't think of meaningful numeracy activities that relate then I don't force it but will provide something that supports our whole class work. I aim to provide around 8 or 9 independent activities (at least one for each area of learning) plus my continuous provision (materials' tray, role play, writing area etc). The activities stay out all morning rather than being split into MD or CLL sessions.