Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Plan, Do, Review

Hi everyone, just wondered how plan, do , review worked in your reception classes at the moment?? I'm new to reception and would welcome any ideas and experiences you may have. At the moment my children give me an oral plan (from next week they will use a book to draw poctures, more able have a go writing) then they go and DO (the majority change their minds when they see something more interesting that their own plan!!) then we review at the end and this is when the children say what they could do better (actually they say what they will do next time) they find this very difficult. Looking forward to reading your experiences as I dont feel this is plan, do, review at its best. Thanks!! Catherine xxx

Hi Cathy and welcome!

I cant offer you any advice as I have never worked in this way. Are you High Scope trained?

I have visited a high scope nursery and felt very much that it was a relevant way to work in FS and would love to know more! But I think it was a learning process to develop the methodology with the children so perhaps you just need to keep working away.

Hope someone else will be along to help.

Hi, I think that sounds as though you have quite a lot going on there for this time of year.

Plan, Do Review (in my experience) takes quite a while to really be up and running - you will find the children improve as they year goes on and you can change the way you do things to extend, challenge and match the children's needs.

We have been told that the key points for PDR are keep the planning very short - give plenty of time for the doing (with accessible, safe resources for the children to get out) and question carefully during your review time.