Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Applying For Classroom Assistant

HI EVERYONE.

wondered if any of you can help, ive applied for a classroom ass position at my local school. i have been running a preschool for the past 10 years and would like to go onto older children.

my question is; has anyone got any idea of the sort of things i might be asked about in an interview? and any tips on what they really want to hear!

have been researching the post, as well as the specific child it is for (SEN) as i know the parents as he has just left my preschool the same time i did.

my previous deputy at the preschool is also going for the post (who is actually my best mate) so i need a little advantage over her, although i am more experience and qualified, but i think its going to be tough. i also know of another 6 people applying.

so as you see, i could do with some ideas of what they want to hear!!

ANY IDEAS?

i know someone out there will help.

thanks, ruthie

Edited by Guest

Thanks for asking Ruthie, sorry I can't help you but am also thinking of taking the leap, have applied for a position and am now waiting to see if I get an interview...the last post local to me had 110 applicants!!

I would be making the move from preschool also so I am keen to steal your advice from forum members if you don't mind, good luck to you. :D:D

good luck to you too shirel,

so far as far as i know their are 5 applicants for 3 posts, but im sure that will change,

i will let you know how i get on, keep us informed of how you get on.

Okay err i was on interview panel for some TA's lately so let me think back.....

Is it for a Integration based- SEN

Many schools now are taking the approach of not working one on one with a child but to dstand at a healthy distance and aid learning that way, take small groups out, assist changing for PE etc. depending on SEN. You might need to research what this schools views are.

These were for a class based.