Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

A Few Questions.......!

I am new to the Foundation stage and was wondering if anybody could help by answering a few questions?

How soon do you give out reading books? We follow Jolly Phonics and I am sure I read last year (whilst I was in Y1/2) that they should not have a book until they know all of the phonemes. The reception teacher (for past 4 years) has always given books out on the children's first day as it makes them feel like they are at school!

We are planning for children to self register then have a choice of activities to settle in with when they first arrive. This is probably a silly question so I apologise but do you encourage the children to stay at one activity or allow them to keep moving round when they choose (as long as not too many children on each activity)?

We are hoping to do cooking with half the class every week. Do you charge for your children to cook? How much do you find covers the cost?

We are thinking about just covering the Jolly phonics for the Literacy sessions (up until Christmas) but also having times for reading and writing outside of this. Is this OK or should we only introduce one phoneme a week and do other Literacy?

Sorry for all of the questions but I am so glad I found this website as it is making my life a lot easier as don't feel alone!

Possible answers!

I would hold off giving out reading books for as long as you can. I was bound by school policy to give reading books within the first half term but I delayed as long as possible and certainly until I had had opportunity to observe the children with books and to note their skills.

Jolly Phonics needs to be addressed quickly for maximum effect, you might want to assess childrens prior phonic knowledge before beginning.

Yes you can dip in and out of literacy activities throughout the day in reception, so dont do a literacy hour! offer phonics daily and some reading and writing throughout the week.