Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Newbie!

Hi guys, I am an NQT that has landed a job as a foundation and year one mixed teacher within my local area. Although i am very excited and newly trained I am also slightly daunted by the ways of managing the foundation stage profile - if any body could please offer advice or a link to some help it would be much appreciated! Also i came upon this site and thought it would be a great way to 'meet' other NQT's and Foundation/Year one teachers! SO please contact me if ya want to!

Please reply

Many thanks for your time

:o

Hi Kirsten and welcome

I am a reception teacher. We manage our profile by having 6 boxes. Each is labelled with each curriculum area. We put all the evidence we collect for the profile in the boxes. We annotate each piece of evidence with the date it was collected, what it shows and the profile point it is for. To keep a check on who has acheived what points we keep a lists with names down the side and profile point across the top. We have one of these for each curriculum area. We get these sheets out at every planning meeting. We go through our assessment sheets and observations from the week and give each child a tick if they have achieved a profile point. Once they have 3 ticks we say that this scale point has been acheived. We then transfer this to the each profile every half term.

Hope this makes sense!! I know everyone manages the profile differently and i think it's about finding a way which works best for your team and your setting.

Hi Kirsten and welcome!