Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Coming Up Against Resistance Already

Hi all,

so day two since i discovered that i had been made manager over the current deputy.

The current deputy was upset, (she had applied also) and had been there four years, and was a lot more experienced in managerial than me (i have no managerial experience, but years of supervisory and my degree as well)... for whatever reason i got the job.

the deputy is now making my new role (which starts monday) a whole lot harder, she is hiding away in her room, avoiding answering the phone, telling all staff to come to me using the line " go to Dawn she is your manager now" even when they are queries she would have typically answered.

why is it that she feels she has to work against me.... i have already told her that she is far more experienced in the day to day running of the nursery than i am, and that i would appreciate her showing me the ropes.... she however is not keen to do that.

Take today, the deputy told me that next week i will be doing the food shop (for the children's snacks) so i said, "oh you could help me do the list so i know quantities etc", she then said " NO that is the manager's job).... hmmmmm..... maybe it is the managers job... but i just really feel she is out to make my new role a living hell

she is p**sed off that i got it, i can understand that. She doesn't understand why i got it, nor do i really :o , but the fact is i did. The directors knew that i would need further training and support and i think they banked on my deputy helping to provide that to me.....

my gosh i already feel stressed and my new role hasn't started.