Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Packs For New Children?

Hi im a reception teacher and just wondering if any one sends out packs for the CHILDREN who will be starting in september? I thought it may be a nice idea but unsure of what to include? does anyone do this who wouldn't mind sharing their ideas? thanks x

Although I am not in a school, we still send out Welcome Packs for our children. They generally include a few important policies/procedures, general information about the pre-school, clothes labels for the children, providing we know when they are due to start. If they start before we can order their labels, we do so once they have already joined us. We also give each child a pre-school buddy, which is generally a cheap soft toy, that they can use if they are frightened or upset. Some children use them all the time, others relegate them to the back of the toy cupboard!

I have found that the parents appreciate this little thought. We try to choose their toy based on an interest they have, that we have previously garnered from the parents. However this is not always possible, it depends on what the pound shop is selling that day!

The clothes labels idea is really good, because they are easy to use, plus they act as a gentle reminder to the parents that it makes life a whole lot easier if their child's clothes are properly labelled.

We only have a limited budget (who doesn'?) so we have to be careful about costings etc. I think a welcome pack for a child starting school is a lovely idea. As a parent, I would be pleased to have information specific to the class my daughter was going to be in, as well as general information about the school, term dates, contact numbers etc.

Good luck with your search, I hope you find some inspiration! Sorry I couldn't help you more!