Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Cursive Handwriting

We are changing our handwriting policy at school and have been told we will be starting cursive handwriting from September. I have never done it before and at the moment am not that keen. If anybody out there does introduce cursive in Reception I would be interested to hear your views (convince me otherwise :o )

Yes we did but dont worry too much, your job in reception will be to make sure that letter formation is correct, just as you always have done. All those pre writing activities remain essential too.

Children need to know what the letters look like in isolation too and to be able to write them. Depending on which cursive font you use there are suitable fonts available. Start by showing the children their own names in cursive and work from there, you can also join your doulbe letter phonemes which helps children to see them as one unit rather that individual letters.

We used the Cripps Hand for Spelling and the advice there is that writing for writing is joined, writing for reading is print.

Hi, We started this last september in the school. We have introduced 'write dance' into nursery . and reception to develop motor control, co ordination etc Children learn patterns and once can make cursive ccc joined are ready to move to cursive. Alot of print in room is cursive and we model it too during shared writing. Children's names are cursive so learn to recognise the script early on.

We heop to have children writing their name in cursive by end of term. But will start formal handwriting practice in year 1. Hop this helps. It has certainly improved the handwriting in the school, particulalry in yr 2 for sats. It also helps spelling as it feels right!

It is easier to teach one way from the start rather than teach joined at end of year 1 / 2.

Is this convincing?

Don't suppose you have any ideas for teaching Rec year one mixed do you? or know anyone who does? Nightmare mix i know.