Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Committee's

Why wont my committee listen to me!!!!!!!!

Im the leading practitioner at my pre-school playgroup with a parent run committee. Ive been working at the group for 8 years done my level 3 training and now on the foundation degree and they still think they know whats best.

How do you get them to listen and take on board what you say. I cant spend any money on toys for the children, the children have to do a sponsered event each year to fund raise for their own equipment.

They even disagree with me on the daycare standards which i know inside out, but they are kind enough to let me do some of the paperwork they should be doing!!!!

How do i get round them, i try to be diplomatic, but my people skills are'nt that great but im working on that one.

Does anyone else have problems with their committee or is it just me?

Please help

Hi Ruthie

I can sympathise with you on this one. Although the group I now manage is privately owned, by me, and is run as a small business, I have worked in a committee run group before. The church where it was held were the committee and we had to hand over all the fees at the beginning of each half term. We were then paid our wages and given a small amount, and I mean small, with which to buy snacks, resources and equipment. It did not go any way far enough. So, we were allowed to fund raise a couple of times a year BUT we had to give half of what we made to the church!!!!! Needless to say we lied about how much we raised!! A bit naughty I know but it meant we could have a little bit extra for equipment!

I speak with other leaders of pre-schools and they say the same as you-it's like banging your head against a brick wall especially when it comes to funding.