Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Foundation Degree Funding

Jo jo

Can anybody help me as I have spent the last two days trying to fill in a PN1 form to apply for funding to complete a foundation degree and I don't seem to be getting any where!!!

I have a place at my local college on the foundation degree in early years due to start in October this year.

When I asked the college about funding the course they told to my to get a PN1 form from my local L.E.A and fill it in to recieve funding. I have spent two days trying to fill this form in I have phoned ucas, colleges the LEA and noone seems to know how to help me, I would like a grant to pay for my tuition fees as I am a nursery nurse and my wages will not streach to funding it all myself.

People have been telling me to apply for a loan but I have friends who have completed this course and have just started this course last year and they didn't have any of this trouble the course was free they recieved burseries one even got a free lap top!!

Why is there now no funding avaliable to me it's part of the goverments 10 year child care stratergy for those who work with children to be more qualified yet everyone I phone can't help me and seems to think there is no funding for this course as it is only part time and that my only option is a loan.

Can anyone advice my on what grant/loan to apply for? Has anyone else had simular experience when trying to get funding for a foundation degree? it dosen't seem fair that in order to keep my training up to date I have to pay for it especially as I am a low wage earner and it has been funded in the past does it depend on where you live? if so how is that fair!!! :o