Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help! Continue Good Eys Practice In Yr1

xD Please has anyone some good advice ......

I am a nursery teacher, setting up a FS Unit with staff in September (feel positive and excited about that! :D ) and also have been assigned Year 1 to my team - which i love! Now have the opportunity to continue all that great EYs stuff into kS1 and look into further developing the transition ......... however :( am worried ......

The YR1 teacher will be carrying out the literacy and numeracy sessions during most mornings and for this she has a TA to support her - in the afternoon she will be on her own with 29 children and is worried about being able to teach everything she needs to teach in a term, and collect evidence and assessment in all the other areas of the curriculum at the same time!!! :o

The reason for her worry ........... :(

She is an NQT and although currently in YR1, during the afternoons at the moment, her children take it in turns with YR1 and 2 children to go into a room (run by TAs) where it is set out like FS e.g. sand, water, DT area, construction etc etc. There the children work on identified objectives from the QCA and the TAs observe, collect/annotate evidence towards these for the teacher. In September this won't be possible and it will all have to be done by herself in her classroom.

Does this make any sense? Does anyone have any examples of how they organise and manage their day in YR1 that might help me advise and support my YR1 teacher? If children do literacy and numeracy in the morning - how do the children work in the afternoon?

Please HELP! :D

Guest tinkerbell

Does she have 29 yr1 ?

She could think of reorganising lit/maths

We do a science morning on wednesday so the teacher and TA could do assessment stuff for that then.

Could she link some curriculum areas together?teach lit through history topic for example.?

Tinkerbellx

Does she have 29 yr1 ?

She could think of reorganising lit/maths