Jump to content
About Us

Bespoke Frameworks: Scales, Details & Components


Recommended Posts

In this tutorial I'm going to cover the three vital elements that make up a bespoke framework: Scales, Details & Components. 

I'll go through each concept one by one, but if you would like to travel to a specific point in the tutorial, please use the links below. 




Let's get started looking at Scales. 



Scales are what you use to assess your framework against. You might call these refinements, tiers or levels. They allow you to fine tune your assessment when completing it in your observations. For example, you may want to set a Scale to show how well a child is demonstrating that selected statement.

Below you can see an example of a Scale in action. 

With the Key Stage 1 & 2 frameworks on Tapestry the Scales are called 'tiers' (when setting up the Key Stage frameworks you can choose how many tiers you have and what these are called). In the example below, we have 4 tiers set up (absent is not a tier as such). These are: needs additional support, working below, working at and working above. You can assess the KS1 & 2 Scales (tiers) against all of the KS statements. 




Details are what make up your framework. They are everything from the titles of each part of your framework, to the statements, objectives, or targets that you may have included in your framework. 

In the screenshot below you can see the KS1 Year 1 framework on Tapestry. All the elements highlighted make up the Details of the framework.

The Details for the KS1 framework are:

  1. What the subjects are called (English, Maths etc.).
  2. What the areas within each subject are called (in the screenshot you can see one area of the English framework - spoken language).
  3. What the statements within each aspect are. 





Each Detail in your framework needs to be given a Component. Components are important because they tell Tapestry how this Detail should look and behave and, later on, will be helpful when you start filtering and analysing your assessments. A Component should be a broad word which describes the type of Detail you are adding.

Using KS1 as an example again, this is split into four different Components:

    A. Subject
    B. Area
    C. Aspect
    D. Statement



When you add a new Component, you’ll need to say how Details added as this type of Component should look and behave. Components can either be a 'Category' or they can be 'Selectable'. If they are a category it means they only appear as a heading. For example, the Component of 'Subject' in KS1 would be a 'category' as you cannot tick it. The Component of 'Statement' in the KS1 framework would be 'selectable', because you can tick the statements when making an assessment. 

Finally, within your framework you need to choose which Components your Scale can be used against. Within the KS1 framework it is the statements that are assessed. Therefore it would be the Component 'Statement' that would need to have the Scale enabled. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.

  • Create New...

Important Information

We have placed cookies on your device to help make this website better. You can adjust your cookie settings, otherwise we'll assume you're okay to continue. (Privacy Policy)