Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Linking The Profile And The Guidance

hi, Im new to this site. I work in a special needs school with reception class. The Foundation Stage is just beginning to work properly but we still have lots to sort out. Just wanted to ask about planning. You definately plan from the FS guidance dont you? covering all of the ELG in there per year? but these dont really fit in exactly with the profile. So... does everyone plan and work by the guidance and then when assessing fit it in where you can on the profile or is there a better way?

thanks - I'm a student at the mo-qualify in july but no one at school seems to know!

thanks

jo

also half of the pupils in my class will not reach these ELG but should I still plan for those and then use the stepping stones in my medium term plans as a way of breaking down the ELG a bit or should I try and plan to cover the stepping stones as well.

thanks again

Hi Jo and welcome!

We do our planning against the stepping stones within the CGFS. As we're a pre-school we dont necessarily meet the ELGs, but we use the stepping stones (and observations) to plan activities/opportunities towards them.

We tend to observe children across the six areas of learning and then put these observations in the most relevant section of the profiles. They don't always match to the sections exactly, but the profiles tend to give you a good idea of where things should go.

When we do our planning, we plan using the stepping stones, rather than the ELGs. These are our learning intentions, in much the same way that ELGs are learning intentions for children in Reception, heading for the end of the FS.

I hope this helps in some way, Jo. I'd be interested to see the response you get from others!

Good luck with the rest of your training! :D

Clare