Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New User Needs Help With Gender Issues?

HI can any one help me?

I am a HND student trying to complete a reaserch project regarding gender issues in early years settings. do any of you have any thoughts/data/ articles you could guide me to regarding

a- the views of parents and teachers towards male care workers in early years settings. are men in a nursery reated differently to men in primary school?

b- any gender steriotype issues within settings

c- the issues of boys achievement when compared to girls in schools, do boys get appropriate and adequate role models with the setting, do any of you have any statistics re men in childcare that are up to date and reliable.?

Hi there, Julie, and welcome to the site.

The issue of gender is massive as you will be aware and I am sure you will get lost of responses from members here. Ill pop back with my own thoughts a bit later on so Ill let someone else start the ball rolling.

Be interested in followng this, however, I do not know of any men working in any of the preschools/nurseries near me. I think it would be great to have a male role model within the group especially as many parents are single parents (myself included) some of whom may have very little contact with male role models. But there needs to be a change in the way recruitment and retention of staff is dealt with. My personal opionion is that men do not see themselves forging a career out of this - which probably goes back to the issue of pay within the sector.

Nikki

Julie, ther is a really interesting article on boys achievment in the December issue of Early Years Educator(EYE). If you observe boys and girls interacting you will notice differences, and much of this will be backed up by academic research (your college library is a good place to start).