Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Writing

Hi there everyone

I'm at that stage in the year where I'm beginning to pull my hair out with writing development! I have a group of children who have gone from mark making :) to writing recongisable letters :)

However they seem to be stuck there and are not able without massive support to use their phonic knowledge to begin to write the appropriate/dominant sounds in words.

I sometimes use the rearrange and stick a muddled up simple sentence strategy and have occassionally used overwriting their dictated sentence. I was wondering what others are doing and how they would go about tackling this? I though about the ELS type of groups that they do in Year 1 (targeted daily support through a predetermined program). I would have to consider the timing of this carefully and what type of things I could do with them.

I am an experienced teacher but sometimes I really do feel I am failing and have come to a bit of a dead end. I would love anybody elses advice as to what I could do to help them

cheers everyone... in anticipation

Sounds quite typical and Im not sure I've got any answers, sorry! I tried to overcome this a couple of years back by concentrating on letter formation --making the physical process automatic. It certainly didnt seem to hinder the children and removed the "I cant write" syndrome. I also tried to concentrate on the physical process without making any writing demands but I was then asked to do more writing tasks! So possibly concentrating for the rest of this term on letter formation/ handwriting might help??