Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Need Some Help

How on earth do you do a medium term plan for early learning goals, such as' continue to be interested, excited and motivated to learn'. Don't these just happen!

I'm really really am getting bogged down with planning, and never feel like I am getting to grips with it.

How long has it taken for you guys to get to grips with planning.

Just need to see some light at the end of this tunnel. :o

Anyway, I have my medium term plan for Spring term. But I am convinced myself that its not right. I have used the Norfolk site to help me. But what I am not sure about is the ELGs, as I know I will be covering most of the ELG. So do I just highlight them all.

Any ideas please, thank you.

spring_plan.doc

Guest tinkerbell

Hi Lauraplay

I'm still getting to grips with planning and I've been doing it for 20 years or more!!

It changes and needs to be relevant to the set of children you are teaching, every year you get a set of children with different needs eg this year I have two statemented children complete with support so this adds extra into the planning, their needs (the children and two women!)

The long term plan and medium planning can stay the same, its how you fiddle with it to suit your present class that I find interesting.

I don't think I will ever get it right as I teach R/Yr1 .This year I am starting to add NC objectives this term into my planning (yes Using the norfolk planning format) to cater for theyear1 and an exceptional reception child.

Laura I wouldn't worry too much. Your planning is certainly detailed. Lots of ELGs are covered all the time in everyday routines. Just concentrate on high-lighing the main ELGs you are focussing on in your teaching activities.

I see you are doing Rosie's Walk - you can download pics here if you are interested :D