Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Please Help

Hi

I wasn't sure where to post this, there doesn't seem to be a forum specifically for the problem I have. I am a student studying early childhood studies at Roehampton University and I work part time. At present I am not working in the early years field, I work with a fifteen year old boy who has muscular dystrophy. I know that this may seem to be very irrelevent but I thought some of you might be able to point me in the right direction and give me some tips.

I work for an agency which pays my wages to work with this boy (I'll call him 'M'), I spend all day Saturday with him, take him out, make him lunch, help him to wash and put him to bed etc... I have spoken to others that have worked with him and have agreed that there is a form of abuse going on in his household. It is not physical or sexual, which makes it all the more difficult to pin point what is happening and how to go about helping the situation.

'M' has carers everyday of the week and four nights out of seven there is a night carer, his mum very rarely spends time feeding him, washing him or putting him to bed. I have never seen her kiss him, cuddle him, have a conversation with him (and I have been working there for nearly a year). The mother has a boyfriend of about four months, when they return from being out all day, 'M' automitically moves his wheelchair to go to his room, many times I have heard him say 'give them a rest', at which time I have to stop myself from saying 'a rest from what, being at the pub all day?'.