Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Traditional Stories

Hi,

Im a newby on here and was really hoping you could help me,

im a student just about to undertake my final teacher training practice and have been given the topics 'growing' and 'traditional stories' to cover. ive got a general idea of what to cover for growing (although any ideas would be much appreciated!!)

but im stuck on traditional stories. i keep changing my mind on what to do! :o

ive been asked to cover one story each week and have 3 weeks of practice with this topic. i was thinking goldilocks, little red riding hood and 3 little pigs, but after seeing some of the ideas on here im such as the cinderella wedding! im tempted to try something creative but as its my last practice ive been told to keep it simple, what do you think? xD

sorry if im waffling! but any ideas on what stories i should do and any creative activities would be fantastic! ive got some but there pretty basic,

many thanks!

emma x

Hi Emma, have you seen the growing topic on the forum, you can get to it by clicking here, it's all thanks to our very own Sue R. :D

Traditional tales, my favourite is Goldilocks, I like to read 'Beware of the Bears' alongside it. I think there is a story from the wolfs point of view regarding his visits to the 3 pigs too but i cant remember the name of it. A book by David Henry Wilson, called 'Theres a wolf in my pudding' has a different slant on some of the traditional stories, always went down a storm with my son. Hope all goes well for you. :D

I love Jack and the Beanstalk too, and it fits in well with growing. The children love joining in with the chanting. Music could be making giant footsteps (slow and heavy) and Jack (quick, quiet and fast), up and down a glockenspeil (higher and lower). Lots of role play. The ideas are endless!