Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Jumping

Guest Really

I am a PGCE student in Reception. I am trying to think of activities that will encourage the children to use jumping skills. I introduced it last week and we played a game which involved the children doing different jumps- kangaroo, bunny, frog and mouse.

How can I take it forward now?

Thanks - (been up since 7 this morning planning for next week!!)

Hi

not thought about this one like this before.

if you are working in Reception you almost certainly need lots of repetition so recall & repeat.

I always get my children to think about how they are landing---knees bent, on toes or full foot. Makes a difference to how you jump! Then look at differences between jumping on the spot or moving around the room. Then we jump to travel ie leaping. Some children find it easy to run and jump others don't, so encourage and demonstrate & get children to demonstrate to one another. You may need objects to jump over to encourage movement through the air. Make a river with 2 skipping ropes, children usually enjoy just running and jumping over the gap!

just a word of warning which is very easy to lose sight of, little children may not know what you are talking about- do they know what a kangaroo is, have they seen one jumping? What about a mouse?

I was playing a game with hoops with my class this week, to encourage spacing & talked about islands and sea & shipwrecks as a stopping command. Later in the week we went to the park and at the pond I discovered noone knew what an island was!

Have fun

Susan

How about stringing a washing line across an area, and hanging balloons from it, at a height where the children have to jump to reach them? You could hang them at different heights and number the balloons to introduce Maths-type language, and also intersperse them with jingle bells and other sound-making resources.