Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Problems With Ta's

:o Hi everyone

We have recently opened our new early years unit and I am loving it, apart from the fact that I seem to do everything myself, due to my support staff not being very supportive.

Everything is a chore for them and they never use their initative or imagination, and it is really beginning to get me down.

The other week I gave one of them rebus symbols to laminate and cut out. (3 sheets of A4 x3). It took her all day, and they looked like an F2 child had cut them out. (No joke, parts of the pictures were missing).

I do displays myself because: i) they take too long gettting around to doing them and ii) they just have no pride in their work.

I probably sound like an NQT, but I'm in my fourth year of teaching and have always had good TA's / BSW's.

I know that I need to be more assertive with them, but I was just wondering if there was anybody out there who has had similar problems and how you dealt with it.

xD

Oh poor you, how frustrating xD

I'm not sure I can give much advice! They sound pretty demotivated to me -do they have any involvement in day to day planning? Do they have their own particular responsibilities - would having their own display boards to maintain help to stimulate some healthy competition/ pride?

I'm sure this is a job for Peggy and her wise words :o

Peggy can you rise to the challenge???

This can be a very difficult situation. Who appointed these staff?

Are the staff expected to do the didplays in working time?

Display does not come easily to everyone. We were taught display at Teacher Training College and this is something I teach all our Nursery Nurse Students, perhaps your staff need a few lessons but be careful not to be patronizing. I think ASPK's idea of giving everyone a board to display work on is a good idea but tell them they can ask for help.