Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Schemas

Does anybody know anything about schemas in early childhood. I am a student at Roehampton university and schemas have been mentioned a few times and I am having difficulty getting my head round the concept. If you have any ideas let me know! Thanks!

I recently read an excellent book by Cathy Nutbrown called 'Threads of Thinking'. It is all about schemas, how to identify them and how to extend children's learning through them. The book made me want to go and sit in a pre-school and watch, unfortunately it was holiday time. Your uni library should have a copy, better to read that and let me know what you think, I am about to read a more recent book on the subject by Tina Bruce but the Nutbrown book is addictive if you can get it.

Briefly schemas are biologically determined patterns of behaviour. For example, a child who plays in the sand burying a toy, moves to the water tray and sinks a rock, stops off at the play dough to cover a pencil with dough before poppin outside to climb through the tunnel may appear to be someone with a short attention span. Or he could be a child working through his enclosure schema. Depending on how you see his behaviour will determine how you scaffold his development.

I can get quite carried away on the subject, let me know if you want any more info.

regards, Sylvia.

Chris Athey studied schemas and identified many repeatable and observable patterns of behaviour in young children. Her work was then followed by Cathy Nutbrown and schematic observations and planning are actively pursued at pen Green Childrens Centre in Corby, Northants. Children's schemas are used to identify interests that the children are actively pursuing until they make sense of a concept like rotation and many early years practitioners are using schemas to plan the learning environment....to extend children's interests within the framework of the Foundation Stage.