Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Bad Day

Why is it somedays it dosnt matter how hard you work there are always complaints over trivial things at the end of the day?

I know our parents pay alot of money to send their children and sometimes it feels like the expect too much over and beyond what I can give them. Am sure they are the usual stuff in other centres but boy it really makes you question if its worth all the hassle.

I love working with the kids but the parents can drive you MAD rant rant rant!!!!!!!

Anyone got any magic ideas of how to calm down at the end of the day?

Moan over

Hi there,

What sort of setting are you in? You've probably told us, but I'm not good at remembering too much stuff.

Parents can easily be a pain in the b*m, but they are the people at the 'sharp end'. They may need you to help THEM!!

My experience is that sometimes carers feel vulnerable and moan to kind of assert their position? (Day Nursery, me )

Sue :D

Hi Yes I am in a day nursery too, I know parents can take it out on you at the end of the day when they cant be with their children, or dont think your doing everything the right way.

I think alot of it is because they pay a fair amount and so expect alot in return. Sometimes you just feel like a extension of their PA's, cleaners, other domestic staff. Everyone wants their fair share of what they think they should be getting and theres not enough of me to go around!

With you there!

It's very hard to strike the right balance, but don't give up on your parents!

It is hard to spread yourself, I know, but I find that being welcoming and reassuring all the time works not only for the children, but also the parents. Then they stop regarding you as the 'hired help' and start seeing you as someone who is actually interested in their child - THEN you get results!

Sue :D

Guest tinkerbell

Sorry you had a bad day yesterday akire