Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Areas In Reception

Ive a few questions regarding the areas in reception,

I am setting up new areas such a fine motor area and investigation area and I was wondering how other people plan for these areas.

Do people just have a the same thing in the area for the week or do u change it on a daily basis?

I was going to make a 1/2 term plan with the weeks, theme, and suggested resourse in colums and stick this up in the area. Has anyone already got these up or does this sound like a silly idea?

Any ideas would be helpful

thanks

This is my first year in Reception and, despite some reservations, I am actually really enjoying it. I've attached my first ever attempt at a half termly plan for the areas in my classroom. Hope it is of some use to you. It really is a working document and I have made some changes each week. Although initially the activities first thing in the morning stay the same all week some of the areas change daily (ICT, writing etc) for Numeracy and Literacy objectives. We also learn a new game every week which is then available for them to play.

Autumn_2005_1st_half.doc

I do a weekly planner for Literacy and Numeracy which includes activities for some of the areas which the children can access freely, as well as guided activities. I also do a half termly topic plan with whole class teaching to include Knowledge and Understanding of the World. For PE I use the Val Sabin scheme which is very good and easy to follow.

Hope this is OK for you.

Hi Shooting Star