Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Interview Etiquette

can anyone advise - what is the etiquette if applying and being interviewed for more than 1 job. I have 1 interview this week, and a possible interview for a different job the next day, if I am in the lucky but probably unlikely position of being offered the first job - do I have to accept or not accept there and then, I don't want to count my chickens, but if the second job is a possibility I will be very tempted by it..

Nightmare!

I have to ring two settings tomorrow to say I'm no longer interested (i.e. please cancel interviews). Luckily, my first interview gave me the post I knew I wanted (1 hour after interview - message was on answerphone!)

All I can say (novice here) is to make sure that what is offered is right e.g. particular aspects of career development. Be honest about that. If it doesn't offer you what you want, you'll know. If it seems OK, and they give you the option of the job, but you've still got other routes to investigate, a day or two before you say yes or no will make no difference to them, I'm sure.

I'm not sure that offers are often given at interview (even if they made an offer there and then, I'm not sure they'd expect an instant answer). You've always got breathing space, because an offer won't be retracted immediately if you say "I'll ring you on ..." After all, you're assessing them as much as they're asssessing you.

All I can say is: best of luck.

Diane

hi Basil brush, this is a tricky one isnt it and I'm afraid I dont really know the answer!