Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

next PGCE placement in a Year 2 class- what to expect?

Hi all, as the topic title suggests my second placement on my Early Years PGCE is in a Year 2 class in a small, rural school. Whilst I am really looking forward to it, I am also really apprehensive as not sure what to expect with a Year 2 class. I have plenty of experience of younger children but not so much with the older children so even behaviour management, transition times- stories/ rhymes etc- are really throwing me so was hoping some of you lovelies would be able to enlighten me as to what to expect from anything to everything!

I have little experience of the National Curriculum (it was a good few years ago I did my CACHE course covering it in more depth- degree only touched on it very lightly) so that will throw me with planning and subject knowledge confidence, as I am very confident with the EYFS and ethos/ values of children learning through play so I feel like a complete duck out of water. I have bought some books to help with this but to hear straight from the horses mouth would be great!

I am really looking forward to it- please don't think I'm not, I think it is the slight fear of the unknown that is throwing me! And of course, the more I think about it, the more apprehensive I feel. I start mid January doing a few days a week as prep, then 4 week block in February.

Looking forward to hearing your replies!

ExtraordinaryChicken it will all depend very much on the ethos of the school you are working in. Have you had a chance to visit yet anbd get some info from them? If not have a look at their website and you can usually get a feel of the place from there.