Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Role Play

i am in reception in september and am thinking really hard about an exciting role play area. The topic is ourselves. I must be thinking too hard as i can't come up with anything. Does anyone have any good ideas for me ????? :D

i'm doing the same topic and am also an NQT. I have been thinking about some of the following: doctor surgery, baby clinic, opticians, dentist, home or shoe shop. I suppose it depends what you will be focussing on each week. I am going to be doing, senses, healthy, babies and handy week.

Thanks I would like to keep the area on a similar theme and just change the focus each week those ideas sound good. I am in my third year of teaching the last two in year 1. :o

I always start with a home corner as this is familiar territory for the children. How it develops then depends on them and their interests.

:):D Hi, we ask the children to bring in `family` photos which are then turned into `The Class Book` the children explain who is in the photo and we scribe their descriptions below the photo. If any of the children can`t or `forget` to bring photos, then they are asked if they would like to draw/paint their family members. The finished `book` is then put into the `Book Corner` and is the most popular item on the bookshelf for at least the first term ( Be warned it is a requirement that teacher and t/a,c/a have to add their own photos aswell !) This `Family Theme ` is continued in the Role Play area ie. Mini house.Kitchen area, lounge area, phones, mobile phones (NOT live ones), the `mini home`. Shortly after this we look at safety and Bonfire night in particular in which we keep the kitchen/lounge but as part of `The Fire Station` theme, we usually incorporate a visit from the Fire Service to emphasise the safety aspect.