Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Advice Needed On Career

Hello lovely people,

I have been a class teacher for over 13 years, and a very happy school nursery teacher for 3 of those. However whilst I adore my job, when it involves the children I am increasingly unhappy about the way nursery is perceived when it is part of a school and I am seriously considering leaving school teaching and applying to work in a Nursery.

I was wondering if anyone has done this? or if you've employed former teachers? and what level of job should I apply for? I know it would be quite a change in salary and working patterns but I am beginning to wonder if, for my happiness, its worth the cost?

I appreciate any advice that you guys have that can help me make an informed decision,

Lucy hobbit

I am employ two former school nursery teachers who prefer working with the little ones and having the freedom of not having to stay late to attend whole

school meetings. Yes the pay is less than what they used to get, but the hours are more flexible and they only work with a 1:8 ratio rather than 1:15.

I have made one my curriculum manager and the other has done SENCO, so they get a small uplift on the level 3 salary.

Wishing you well if you decide to make the switch.

Edited by Guest

Hi Lucy

can you specify what it is about the way your nursery is perceived by school? does it relate to how the senior management or Governing body value the nursery contribution or is it top down pressure? Are you in a position to alter the perceptions (or have you already tried that?).

I too work in a school nursery. I too have been teaching almost 13 years (qualifying in '99) and have been in nursery 7 years. I love it but there are times when I feel like throwing in the towel too (I've had an awful day - see my post on behaviour obs sheet ;) )...