Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Theorists And Practice

I am in my 2nd year of Foundation degree and I think i'm experiencing a "senior moment."

I know the guidance is based on theories such as the importance of play= Vygotsky,

and that the National curriculum Piaget/differentiation/differing stages of development etc.

What I really need are some examples of how they apply in my setting (Year1/2)

Zone of proximal development and scaffolding is easy, we do it all the time.

Does anyone have any other ideas as how the CGFS and Nat. Curric are based on theories?

How do you put them into practice in your setting?

Hope this ramble is clear!!!

Hi there

For the sake of your course, you could think about what each curriculum is said to promote and then give examples of theorists, for example, CGFS is supposed to be 'hands on' and interactive and this would suggest Bruner and Vygostsky, but you could also suggest that this links to mastery and goodself esteem - Dweck - and is a format which can be used to support children's schema - Piaget and Chris Athey. You could also talk about smooth transition, I think Hilary Fabian has written on this,but can check for you if it doesn't pan out.

Moyles has written a lot on play and I think it's BIlton that's written the most on outdoor play, also linking in with CGFS. You could also look at the example of Reggio Emilia in realation to CGFS.

This is off the top of my head, hope it helps and do hope it makes sense!! Sorry, can't think of any NC links as have focussed on FS for last 6 months, but I think by focussing on the intent behind the curriculum you can pick out theorists and then also argue about whether what was intended is actually achieved through the way the curriculum is delivered - or not (if that fits with your essay!!?)!

Good luck

Kellsa

Edited by Guest

Hi