Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning In Reception / Year 1

:o

Hi, can anyone help me? I've been teaching for 10 years and have had a mixed KS1 class for the last 5 but this year is different! I am taking early entry children with my reception and year 1 children and I 'm really concerned about the planning for play. What does a daily plan look like? How is the day organised?

Anne Br

Hi Anne,

Welcome to the forum. :) I am not a teacher so would struggle to answer your question. Since this is the middle of the holidays for most people there are not many people around at this time of year. Hopefully someone will be along soon to help you with your query. In the meantime I suggest you spend some time going through some of the previous threads and you might find some useful suggestions. :) The search facility is really good - you'll find the button at the top right of the page - hope this helps. :D

Just really sorry neither of us can really help as we're not teachers.

As Carol has said, there are a lot of threads about planning and daily structure - have fun!

Sue  :D

36374[/snapback]

Thanks! I will!!

What do you mean by early entry children???

I have had mixed year R/1 this past year and also will have the same- but a better split this year.

I have planned seperately for my year1s for all curriculum areas but around the same topic ish that my reception will be doing. However I have tried to plan for foundation stage type activities with lots of play and investigation. I also have the problem that as from week 5ish I will not have my year 1s in the morning for literact, numeracy and science, which makes it harder to try and give them contiuity and a day that goes together.